School Logo


Phonics teaches children to learn letter sounds, allowing them to deconstruct words to read them and reconstruct them to spell them.  It is an incredibly helpful tool in developing young readers and writers and is taught in phases.

Phase 1

In Phase 1 phonics, children are taught about:

  • Environmental sounds
  • Instrumental sounds
  • Body percussion (e.g. clapping and stamping)
  • Rhythm and rhyme
  • Alliteration
  • Voice sounds
  • Oral blending and segmenting (e.g. hearing that d-o-g makes ‘dog’)

Phase 2

Phase 3

Phase 4

Phase 5

Phase 6

By Phase 6, children should be able to read hundreds of words using one of three strategies:

  • Reading them automatically
  • Decoding them quickly and silently
  • Decoding them aloud